Read to Live, readtolivetowrite

Quinsey Wolfe’s Glass Vault Review

Quinsey Wolfe's Glass Vault (Glass Vault, #1)Quinsey Wolfe’s Glass Vault by Candace Robinson
My rating: 3 of 5 stars

I received this book via NetGalley in exchange for an honest review and here it is.
What a unique story! I love creepy, horrific stories that are cringe worthy, but too compelling to put down so you suck it up butter cup and push through because you need to know what’s happening.
That is what Quinsey Wolfe’s Glass Vault was for me.
Perrie, our teenage protagonist, lives in a town where multiple disappearances occur. She’s a typical teenager dealing with everyday things: an ex-boyfriend, Neven, a new love interest, August, college concerns, and a best friend/ cousin, Masie, that keeps her grounded.
One day Perrie and her friends come across a stone building that wasn’t there the previous day. A sign on the door has the Name Quinsey Wolfe’s Glass Vault and a hiring inquiry.
When Neven goes missing and Masie disappears after her first night working in the mysterious new building, Perrie asks August for his help. Together they investigate the Glass Vault.
Inside, Perrie and August find a macabre of glass displays. When a mysterious force pulls them into the Sleepy Hollow case, they are forced to fight their way from one display to the next. From Sleepy Hollow to Jack the Ripper to the creepiest Snow White retelling ever, they unravel the mystery behind the Glass Vault and find their friends in the process.
But, beware the twist! I gotta say, I hinted toward the twist early on but quickly put it out of my mind as I was engulfed by the suspense and ‘what ifs’.
I gave this book a 3/5 because although I think the prose could have been better, the story more than makes up for it. I do wish the characters were more fleshed out. I really only had empathy for Masie and think with a little more development the other characters could have been more relatable. Also, I’m a fan of the ‘open ending’ but if given a few more details the ending would have been better rounded in this particular book.
If you like YA and horror, this is the perfect blend for you!

View all my reviews

Leave a Reply

